How on Earth Did THAT Happen?

My kids can confirm this– I never win. I just don’t. It’s not something I’m bitter about, and I don’t feel sorry for myself. Someone has to lose, right? It might as well be me. It doesn’t generally matter what it is– Uno, Sorry, Monopoly, raffles, drawings, and any other competition. Oh, I’ll participate. But I know I’m not gonna walk away with a prize.

Until recently. I’m walking through uncharted territory these days. This past winter I beat out more than 700 other overweight folks for the chance to win a three-month YMCA membership and compete in a weight loss competition. I’m not even that overweight. But that competition opened doors to possibly help me get back to doing my other passion: radio. And I didn’t have to pay for our Y membership for three months, with was a huge blessing. There’s all this other good stuff, too– I finally scored a job interview, and landed the job on the spot. It’s only a part-time sales-type gig, but it’s something, and I’m looking forward to seeing how the Lord uses this to help me grow. I was just accepted into USC Upstate to complete my Communications degree, AND they awarded me what they call an out-of-state scholarship, which means that even though I don’t meet the requirements for in-state tuition, they’re only going to charge me in-state tuition. Then there are these little legal victories as my husband fights for custody of our children, and tries to force me to put them in public school. Those seemingly little victories can seem so big when you’re not used to winning. 

And today came another big blessing. Another big win. And this is one that you get to share with me. Dusted Cover has been named the Upstate’s Worst Website. What does this mean? It means that a single, homeschooling mom might be able to earn a little extra income selling used books on-line with a top-notch website. And it means that you’ll have access to gently-read books and homeschool curriculum at a great price. So thank you, for supporting my little blog, for reading my musings about books, and I hope you’ll stick around for the long-haul as this little dream of mine moves closer toward fruition.

Cheering for YOU!

Jenna

 

About Jenna K

Jenna is a single mom raising 3 boys in Greenville, SC, where she works part-time as a news reporter for a local radio station, and part-time at a local hardware store. She also loves to read and write, and is in the process of developing a website to sell used books, particularly homeschool curriculum. Jenna aspires to become one of the "fit" people, and spends much of her spare time jogging, lifting weights, and breathing through yoga poses. Above all, Jenna is in love with Jesus, and strives to walk in His perfect will in all things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

