So Much for THAT Idea.

As I sit here, in the upper room of my parents’ house, listening to New Year’s revelers discharge what I hope are fireworks, I can’t help but recall last year’s reading intentions. Determined as I was to read two books a month, it just didn’t happen. Frankly, 2011 flew by far too quickly. I’m convinced that someone, somewhere prematurely ripped out a page or two of the calendar, because it just went too fast. And since we’re being frank, I can tell you that this year positively bit.

Without going into the sordid details, it’s likely enough to have pointed out that my three children and I are living with my parents. Why read about the broken hearts of Emma and Cleopatra when I have my own shattered life to mend once a divorce I don’t want is finalized? Two books a month was a daunting goal for a homeschooling mom of three boys. I did manage to read some great books, even if was primarily to my boys as part of their school work.

By far, my greatest literary achievements for 2011 revolved around my little men. Actually, it’s more their literary achievements I’m so proud of. My youngest started Kindergarten this year and is easily reading at a first or second grade level. My middle son, my most reluctant reader, is slowly overcoming his fear of reading. It’s a sad thing when a child is made to feel he is incapable of learning to read, but he’s making progress at a pace that is comfortable for him. My proudest accomplishment lies with my 4th grader. During the past several months he has become a reader. A real reader. He has found that he enjoys mysteries, and every week checks out Nancy Drew, Hardy Boys, and The 39 Clues books from the library to read, voluntarily, for recreation. He flies through them, and it makes my heart smile to hear him giggle over a passage he’s reading, and to see his eyes sparkle as he relates an interesting plot line to me. Boy of my heart!

Another intention I had for 2011 was to sell used books on-line, and I did manage to accomplish this. Not to the degree I had hoped. My webmaster skills are severely lacking, but I’ve managed to sell a few items on half.com.

I bit off more than I could chew. I could have done it. I could have read two books a month during 2011, if I hadn’t been overwhelmed with grief from watching my 13 year marriage disintegrate while trying to keep it together so I could effectively educate, enlighten, exercise and entertain my children. The good news is that I still have a GREAT list of books I intend to read, and books never get too old to pick up and read or re-read. It may take more than a year, but I’ll get through them. Just like I’ll get through everything else– one page at a time.

About Jenna K

Jenna is a single mom raising 3 boys in Greenville, SC, where she works part-time as a news reporter for a local radio station, and part-time at a local hardware store. She also loves to read and write, and is in the process of developing a website to sell used books, particularly homeschool curriculum. Jenna aspires to become one of the "fit" people, and spends much of her spare time jogging, lifting weights, and breathing through yoga poses. Above all, Jenna is in love with Jesus, and strives to walk in His perfect will in all things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

