The Problem with Perfectionism

I am a perfectionist. You wouldn’t know it by looking at me, but I am. I’m not one of those perfectionists who kill themselves to achieve perfection in every nitnoid corner of their personal and professional lives. I’m more of that perfectionist that says, “I can’t do it until I have the time/space/energy/resources/etc. to do it perfectly.”

The problem with such perfectionism is that nothing every gets done. As a stay-home mom homeschooling three little people and still trying to create some sort of life for myself, time/space/energy/resources are in very, very short supply. And so, here sits my Dusted Cover, itself collecting dust. Nearly another victim of my perfectionism. I want to write a blog about books, and then even sell some books on the side in order to support my book addiction and make room on my bookshelf for new reads, and for the past two months I’ve been mulling over and over in my mind about how to do this, and what book to write about next. I mean, I barely wrote about Bridges of Madison County– should I do a full review of that before tackling another book? Or do I pull a different book off the shelf and do a review on that? Should it be a book I’ve read recently? You see how self-defeating this process can be.

So, I’m done. Not with the blog– with this perfection crud. This is not going to be another one of those great ideas I had that never came to fruition because the box of excuses won out. I’m not going to re-read this posting a dozen times before clicking the “Publish” icon. Ugh. Spelling and grammar errors. I really hate spelling errors– especially in a book/writing blog. Mmmm… if you promise not to point out my every spelling glitch, I’ll promise to just push the little blue button, kay?

 

About Jenna K

Jenna is a single mom raising 3 boys in Greenville, SC, where she works part-time as a news reporter for a local radio station, and part-time at a local hardware store. She also loves to read and write, and is in the process of developing a website to sell used books, particularly homeschool curriculum. Jenna aspires to become one of the "fit" people, and spends much of her spare time jogging, lifting weights, and breathing through yoga poses. Above all, Jenna is in love with Jesus, and strives to walk in His perfect will in all things.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

